Former CU coach Jones inducted into LSC Hall of Honor

For Immediate Release

July 19, 2018

Cameron University Athletics

Kenton Means – Sports Information Director


RICHARDSON, Texas – The 2018 inductee to the Lone Star Conference Hall of Honor is former Cameron coach Joe Jones, league officials announced on Thursday.
Jones composes the 2018 class for the LSC Hall of Honor, which recognizes outstanding individuals who have brought pride and honor to the conference through their contributions as an athlete or who have demonstrated a long-term commitment to the betterment of the conference as a coach or administrator.
Jones, who is the first Aggie to be enshrined, was chosen by a panel of athletic administrators throughout the league.
“Joe Jones is a great addition to the LSC Hall of Honor. His strong leadership and prolonged success as a coach in the league made him a worthy choice. I’m happy to see him take his place among the top coaches in LSC history,” said LSC Commissioner Jay Poerner. 
Jones will receive the LSC’s signature Hall of Honor award, a 15-inch custom-sculpted eagle figurine mounted on a cherry wood base. The award for Jones is to be presented this fall.
“I am thrilled that the Lone Star Conference has chosen to recognize Coach Jones,” said Cameron athletic director Jim Jackson. “His contributions to the conference and Cameron University are certainly worthy of this recognition.”  

Here is a closer look at the 2018 inductee to the LSC Hall of Honor:

Joe Jones served as Cameron’s women’s tennis coach from 1977 until 1999 and had a 306-100 overall coaching record while graduating students at an incredible rate of 95% during that time span.  

Jones started the Cameron tennis program in 1977 where they competed in the Oklahoma Association Intercollegiate Athletics for Women winning titles in 1979 and 1980.  From 1981 through 1989 Jones’ Aggie teams competed in the NAIA ranks where they would finish no-worse than third in District IX and they would win their district title in 1986 and 1987.  Additionally, during Cameron’s years as NAIA program they were in the National Tournament four times and finished seventh overall in 1981.  

When Cameron joined the NCAA and the Lone Star Conference Jones’ teams finished runner up for the league title five straight years falling to Abilene Christian who won 12 straight titles during that same span.  Jones coached teams made the NCAA Tournament in 1991, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, and 1999.   Nationally from 1991-99, the Aggies remained inside the top-25 in the national polls and his singles players were ranked 35th or higher during that same period.   

For his work on the court Jones was honored as Coach of the Year ten times and he was the LSC coach of the year in 1991 and 1993.  In 1996, Jones was the ITA Midwest Coach of the Year and he also served as a member of the NCAA Midwest Regional Ranking Committee Chair and he was also a NCAA National Committee Member. 

After his retirement from coaching in 1999, Jones continued teaching at Cameron and he was awarded the Harold and Elizabeth Hackler Teaching Excellence Award in 2003 which recognizes outstanding contributions by faculty in the lives of Cameron students.  

In 2009, Jones was inducted in the Cameron University Athletics Hall of Fame for his contributions in 23 years of coaching.


Kenton Means

Sports Information Director – Cameron University

2800 W. Gore Blvd., South Shepler 512

Lawton, OK 73505

Office – (580) 581-2303

Cell – (580) 583-2210

Fax – (580) 581-5537


Comments are closed