Cameron adds five to their Athletics Hall of Fame

For Immediate Release

February 9, 2018

Cameron University Athletics

Kenton Means – Sports Information Director


LAWTON, Okla. – Cameron Athletics inducted five former student athletes into the Cameron University Athletics Hall of Fame as part of the 2018 Class.

Friday night was the 11th annual induction ceremony for the Cameron Hall of Fame as the inaugural class was inducted in 2008. Just one member of the 2018 class was able to attend the induction ceremony, but the other four were represented by family members, friends, and former teammates.

Joining the new class of inductees at the ceremony on Friday night were 10 members of the Cameron Athletics Hall of Fame, Cameron president John McArthur, other university representatives, the inductee’s families, current Aggie student-athletes and CU fans.

Cameron’s Vice President for University Advancement, Albert Johnson Jr., served as the ceremony’s moderator as the night was conducted in a “fire side chat” format.

Tomorrow, Saturday Feb. 10, the five inductees will be honored during halftime of the Cameron women’s basketball game against UT Permian Basin; the game starts at 5:30 p.m.

The 2018 Hall of Fame Class:
Cameron’s first inductee was John Bryant. Bryant played basketball for the Aggies from 1958-59. He averaged 19 points per game, scoring a game high of 36 points twice. Bryant led Cameron with 17 points in the national semifinals and was one of the most prolific scorers to play in Lawton, Okla. during the 1950s. He transferred from Kansas State, to Cameron, and then went from Cameron, to Montana State.  

The second inductee into the 2018 class was Sabelle Diata-Tenning. Diata played basketball for the Aggies from 2009-12. She averaged 14.5 points, 8.7 rebounds and 2.9 blocks during her two year career. Diata owns the CU record for career blocks with 126 and blocks in a game with six. She was an honorable mention All-American, a South Central Region First Team selection, Lone Star Conference Player of the Year, and LSC Defensive Player of the Year in 2012 and was also the LSC Newcomer of the year in 2011.

Cameron’s third inductee of the night was former student-athlete and media member Lew Johnson. Johnson played football and basketball for the Aggies in 1947 and 1948. He quarterbacked the CU football team and was hard-nosed player, leading the Single-Wing offensive team at the Junior Rose Bowl. Johnson went on to write for the Lawton Constitution and the Daily Oklahoman and was also the sports anchor for KSWO Channel 7. He was inducted into the Oklahoma Coaches’ Association Hall of Fame in 1976.

The Aggies fourth inductee was Susan Shannon-Portillos. Shannon-Portillos was a tennis player for Hall of Fame coach Joe Jones from 1990-94. She held the number one singles and doubles spot for all four years of her college career. Shannon-Portillos had a career singles record of 66-18 and made it to the National Tournament three out of her four years as an Aggie and was nationally ranked all four years. She is currently a teacher in Albuquerque, N.M. and still plays tennis very well.

Cameron’s fifth and final inductee of the 2018 Hall of Fame Class was Fran Siebuhr. Siebuhr was a men’s basketball player from 1954-56 and played for Cameron Hall of Fame coach Harvey Pate. He was named a JUCO All-American in 1956 and led the team in scoring his freshman and sophomore years wearing the black and gold. Siebuhr was a dominant player for the Aggies and scored a combined 50 points in three games during the 1956 JUCO National Tournament. 

Kenton Means
Sports Information Director
South Shepler 512
Lawton, OK 73505
580-581-2303 (Office)

Comments are closed